Oceania Champions League 2018 quarter finals draw means an all-New Zealand final is impossible

A team from the Pacific islands will be in the Oceania Champions League final.

The draw for the quarter finals of the competition have been made and New Zealand clubs Team Wellington and Auckland City are in the same half of the draw. If they win their quarter final games they will face a semi-final contest against each other.

The draw means one of AS Dragon from Tahiti, Lautoka from Fiji, Nalkutan from Vanuatu or Marist from Solomon Islands will be in the final.

The four teams have been drawn in the second half of the draw, meaning they will avoid a tie with Auckland City or Team Wellington until the final.

Lae City Dwellers will play Team Wellington in the first quarter final, while Solomon Warriors have the tricky task of defeating six-times consecutive champions Auckland City in their game.

The draw for the quarter finals was made on Monday.

Team Wellington vs Lae City Dwellers

Auckland City vs Solomon Warriors

AS Dragon vs Lautoka

Nalkutan vs Marist FC

The quarter finals will begin on 7 April and 8 April. The winners will go through to a two-legged semi-final on 21 April and 28 April.

The final will be over two legs on 12 May and the return leg will be on 19 May.

The winners of the Oceania Champions League will qualify for the 2018 Club World Cup.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.